Happy New Year! But, don’t count on it.

I have been very negligent of my blog, and if it has caused anyone to question my faith, I am sorry. I am still holding fast, but being human, I’ve also been through a very dry and trying last six months.

Now that I am officially in the beginning a a New year, I am going to try and get back to blogging. I find it cathartic and a way of journaling my thoughts, so it is better to continue than to ignore it, I guess. In any case, I certainly hope that everyone who has had a rough year will have rest and peace this year from the same troubles. However, “strengthening the souls of the disciples, encouraging them to continue in the faith, and saying that through many tribulations we must enter the kingdom of God.” (Acts 14:22) is a scriptural reminder that in this life, we are not promised our dreams will come true. But, we are promised whatever we ask, believing, we shall receive. There’s a caveat to that, of course. We Americans are not accustomed to having a lot of faith, because we have become (to quote Pink Floyd) “comfortably numb”.

I do not personally know more than one or two people who claim to be Christians who truly do seem to rely on God for almost every need in their lives. Not through laziness, bad luck, or other personal disposition, but they have learned to hate this present life enough to count the things we hold dear as less than cow manure.
Some people would consider me an unpatriotic American Christian (there is no such thing, by the way – you’re either of the world or of the Kingdom of Christ) for saying this, but it has been proven throughout history, that the church is always more alive when it is hurting and needy. I think the time of hardships for America is overdue, and has been delayed only because of the few truly faithful Christians who remain in this country. Notice the similarity between the number of deaths suffered over the last decade by countries who have no claim to being any kind of “Christian” nation. The Indonesian tidal wave deaths of 2004 were about 250,000 and we see that Haiti has now suffered a comparable number of deaths since the huge earthquake of last year.

What I fear is that America, despite all her good works and generosity, is storing up a huge cup of wrath for her decades of wickedness and perversion. If Romans 1 is an indication of a people gone past saving, present day America would certainly seem to fit the bill. Satan’s line of attack now is to get the remnant of American Christians to become nominal in their daily lives, as well as worship, and I believe we are quite there.

I confess, I have given up facebook, because it was just becoming too much of a distraction for me. Even when the discussions were spiritually based, I felt drained rather than encouraged by them and was convicted that I was neglecting, like Martha, the more important things of personal evangelism and involvement in others’ lives – in reality. The final straw was when I began noticing my Christian friends were beginning to sound, and act, a lot like my non-Christian friends. It was very discouraging to me, because it seemed more a thermometer of the real-time dissolution of saltiness in many lives. I am feeling a lot less salty, myself, and am quite alarmed by it.

So, while I intend to begin blogging again, I cannot promise anything other than my desire to be completely honest and upfront with my observations: of myself and the so-called Christian culture that is so typical these days.

God have mercy on us all, even if it means we lose all the things we’ve made our temporal gods.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Welcome back. Your honesty has always been forthright, and is one of the reasons I enjoy your writings and friendship. We don’t always agree on every issue, but that is part of the growing process.

    The New Year does not promise better things for life on planet earth, but for those who who are straitened by this journey, there is the promise that He will go before us, and cover our rear. Our job is to do as He says, “watch and pray, that you enter not into temptation.”

    In His service,

    Steve Blackwell
    http://www.IndyWatchman.com

  2. Hello Brother!
    Yes, this is going to be a better year! Last year was good, but this will be better!
    Personally, there were too many distractions last year. By he grace of God we dealt with them at the end of the year and got the victory. Learned a lot, for sure.
    Yes, America’s time is coming. Everything is pointing to it, unless you’ve got your head in the sand. It’s a no brainer.
    Sorry to not see you on FB anymore. But, you got to do what you know is right for you.
    Well, hopefully we will get together soon. I boarder on being too busy sometimes. It’s all for the kingdom, but one must still make sure that one is on track.
    Love ya bro!

Leave a Reply

