Asking for directions

russian intersection

I was working in my garage a while ago, trying to adjust the derailleur on my bike, when a lady walked up the driveway and asked if I could tell her where she was. Now, that was an odd question for someone in a quiet suburban neighborhood and she didn’t look old enough to have dementia or Alzheimer’s.

She mentioned that I was the first person she had seen that she could ask for a good while, everyone being at the beach, or rover, or camping perhaps. Anyway, it turned out that she had decided to walk around the neighborhood while her husband watched a track meet at the community college nearby. She had gotten distracted and lost her way. I pointed her in the right direction and offered her a ride, but she didn’t seem comfortable with that, though the way back involved at least 3 miles on a very warm day. She said she was a walker and enjoyed it, so it was no problem as long as she knew where to go. I said “Well, God bless you then” and she laughed a bit embarrassed, I think.

Later on it occurred to me I might have asked her if she knew the Lord, because unless she does, she is still as lost as she ever was, despite my directions. If she had replied in the negative, it would have been a great way to tell her she was truly lost, but I had directions that were worth more than anything in this world. I could tell her how to get to God and obtain eternal life. But, I didn’t think to say anything like that until quite a while after she’d left, headed in the right direction, I hoped.

What also struck me was what a great analogy it was to the cliche’ that men never like to ask directions. If you take the term “men” as referring to “mankind” then it is pretty much a true statement. Jesus tells us to seek, and we will find. Ask, and it will be given to you. But many people don’t want to admit they are lost and clueless. They would much rather keep going where they want to go, even if it means they have no idea where they will end up. People need to humble themselves and ask truthfully, “How do I get where I really need to go?”

God has all the answers. He made us in His image. He became one of us. He knows us better than we can hope to know ourselves. He is the Way, the Truth, the Life. He is Jesus the Christ, and no one comes to the Father of us all, except through Him.

Don’t be too proud to admit you are helpless and hopeless. Seek God and you will find Him, on His terms. Accept that and you will find the way HOME.

Yet he is actually not far from each one of us, for “‘In him we live and move and have our being'” Acts 17:27-28

4 responses to this post.

  1. “Don’t be too proud to admit you are helpless and hopeless.”

    Reminds me of the publican (and the Pharisee).

    God likes it when we admit who and what we really are. And isn’t too crazy about it when we don’t.

    Thanks, very much!

  2. Posted by memnan on August 3, 2009 at 7:38 am

    What a GREAT story…*: ) God uses us in many ways, and who’s to say you weren’t the answer she was looking for? She just might have been asking God for someone to give her direction back to her destination when she spotted you working in your garage…

    I got quite lost once in Nuremberg, Germany, many years ago and God sent the Polizei, because of a fender bender, to lead me back to the Hotel…I had just prayed,”Jesus I need someone to follow back to the Hotel!” All turned out well…I got my guides and more for my car than it was worth! The replacement also reaped more than it’s cost when my daughter totaled it two years later! I would say, God answers our prayers with more than we can imagine…

  3. And THAT was a great story!

    I have a local friend and fellow believer, who told me after he’d returned from vacation last month, how he was prompted to buy insurance for his rental by his wife, when they never, ever take that option. During their use of the car for a week or so, it participated in three (3) accidents! Two, I believe, were not their fault, but it impressed on me that God was looking after him and I told him so!

    God truly is looking out for us. It’s trusting Him when everything seems to be going wrong that’s hard. But, if the Bible is our compass, then we have to keep believing North is North!

    Thanks, Nancy!

  4. Lee,
    While I have no problem with your opinions, these don’t seem to have any bearing whatsoever on my article. What exactly were you commenting on?

Leave a Reply

