Jesus: The perfect man was God

I was struck today by two powerful thoughts:

We all know that Jesus said “Forgive them Father for they know not what they do” while He hung on the cross.

Now think about this… this is what God in the flesh said after He’d been spit on, rejected, His back looking like hamburger, wearing a “crown” of thorns, nails through His hands and feet, with people walking by and tempting Him during this terrible time to “Save yourself! He saved others, but He cannot save Himself!”

And yet, Jesus still says “Forgive them…” At this point, any of us would have been screaming at these people “I am innocent! You are all going to Hell!” and if we had the power to just chuck it all and say, “They don’t believe me. Why should I go through with this? What’s the point?”, we certainly would.

No, our LORD says “Forgive them Father….” when every particle of His human flesh had to have been screaming “Kill the ungrateful jerks!”

If Jesus could plead for forgiveness for people who did not even want to give Him the benefit of the doubt, who treated the Creator of all things like a rabid dog and a criminal, how can we for even aminute, think that He will not forgive any of us if we simply turn to Him and say, “I’m sorry Lord. Please forgive me.”

One of the great promises for believers is:

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.  (1 John 1:9 ESV)

Do you believe? God is so much more merciful and willing to forgive than we can even imagine. We can count of Him to do what He has promised. We just need to believe Him in all things.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Little Laura on March 25, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    Hi my name is Laura, i just read your blog because we have similar tags and i enjoy reading blogs written by different people. I am a Christian and i knew the verses that you expanded off of, but i had never made the same connection that you made here. Sometimes, as Christians, we let our emotions get the best of us and we let ourselves think that God just might not forgive us of our sins. We know its rediculous, but we feel it. But if more Christians hod this understanding of sin and forgiveness, we would all have a free-er conscience and a better understanding of God too. Thank you so much for this blog. I am a new blogger and i would love to hear what you think of my work if you are not too busy. Thank you for your time, God Bless.

  2. Posted by memnan on March 26, 2009 at 5:42 am

    I do, I do believe that’s true…but, my belief does not make it so…it just makes it effective in my life when I grab hold of it and hold on with the faith given by God, Himself!

  3. Little Laura,

    Thanks for the comments. I’d be happy to check out your blog, but I can’t find it and your profile name doesn’t link to it. Can you give me the URL?

  4. Thank God for his mercy and forgiveness! Without it, I would not be here.
    Richard

  5. I have checked out your blog and agree with a lot of your conclusions. I am not convinced, however, that the Holy Spirit has spoken to you directly or that you could have recorded such conversations. Your remark about the King James being recommended by this Spirit was sufficient to make me doubt the veracity of such a thing.

    Thanks for your link and I pray you will test ALL things by the Spirit and the Word. They must agree!

Leave a Reply

