The Social Gospel is a Whore

Reading the news today, which I often neglect to do, I noticed that President Obama has been mighty busy these first weeks.

Two items that bothered me for their hypocrisy are the S-CHIP bill which Obama signed today and the restructuring of the Government’s Faith Based Initiative program.

First, the S-CHIPbill will extend free health care to approximately 4 million children who do not have medical coverage. That’s great, but this camouflages Obama’s signong an executive order ending the ban on federal funds for international groups that perform abortions or provide information on the option. So, on one hand our new President extends health care to those already born, while still promoting, and funding with YOUR tax dollars, the killing of untold millions of innocent babies worldwide.

Second, the Faith Based Initiative is going to be replaced by a Council on Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships. This adventure in secularizing religion and blending it into mandatory volunteerism doesn’t portend great things for the Gospel. It will certainly boost the prestige of humanist and social gospels and their proponents however.

Case in point is the ever active social and political activist Jim Wallis, who expects to be named to this council. Wallis is apparently toe to toe with the Christian Imperialist idea of “Kingdom Now’ or Dominion Theology which claims the world is getting better and that the world will be completely evangelized before Christ Jesus returns. Scripture never claims that the world will be converted and Jesus’ own words in Matthew 24:4-14 contradict the idea of Post-Millenialism or any idea that the world will progressively get better. Paul also counters this idea in 2 Timothy 3:1-5.

What really bothers me about this new Council is the fact that abortion and marriage are two issues that are being ignored by the people who are being named to serve on this council. Will any of them have the guts, yea temerity, to voice these issues? I seriously doubt it.

This is, once again, a demonstration of the harlot church, the present day apostate Israel and it is clear that judgment is coming. I believe it will be a good thing overall, because at the end of all this we will finally know who all the hypocrites are. It will soon become too personally and economically expensive to remain a Bible believing and righteous  person. In all honesty, I pray to God I will not become one of the hypocrites!

For more information on Dominionism or Preterist view see this link.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Hi PK,

    I agree with everything you’ve written in this post, but there is one thing that’s closer to the bone than all the rest if I’m honest. That’s when you mention the hypocrites in the last paragraph of the article.

    When I examine my own life, even in the knowledge that I long to live a life holy unto the Lord Jesus, there is nothing that I can do that will prevent me being labelled a hypocrite and evil doer, save a willingness to clothe myself in sackcloth and ashes, and cry out for His mercy.

  2. John,

    None of us are perfect and even Jesus was accused of being a liar and a hypocrite. Paul tells us to test ourselves, to see if we are in the faith. The primary test is can you answer “Do you love God and Jesus above everything else?” with a heartfelt “Yes”? I believe you can say that and that is all the proof you need to know you are not a hypocrite.

    What I was saying was this: Those who are afraid to die today from natural causes will be afraid to die for Christ when that time comes. That is another way to test our faith. Do you love this life and this world more than God? I can honestly say, thank God, that I hate this world and this life. I can hardly wait to “go home”.

    I am a worm and miserably less than I wish I were, but I AM “getting there”. That’s what matters! God bless you John.

  3. Posted by sreneetn1 on February 7, 2009 at 6:45 am

    Steve,

    I too can only pray and hope that I will have the strength to be an over comer – – not to be a hypocrite –not to deny my Father in any form or fashion. I do not take this thought lightly…I fear, because of my weaknesses, that I may fall – compromise. Oh God I pray that He will daily renew a steadfast spirit in me and take not His Holy Spirit from me!! May God bestow on His people to fear no man, but fear only Him. May God grant us strength through Him to remain righteous in His eyes!

    Create in me a clean heart, O God,
    and renew a right spirit within me.
    Cast me not away from your presence,
    and take not your Holy Spirit from me.
    Restore to me the joy of your salvation,
    and uphold me with a willing spirit. Psalm 51:10-12

    “Listen to me, you who know righteousness,
    the people in whose heart is my law; fear not the reproach of man, nor be dismayed at their revilings. Isaiah 51:7

    The LORD is on my side; I will not fear.
    What can man do to me? Psalm 118:6

    Who is the one who overcomes the world, but he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God? 1 John 5:5

  4. Posted by sreneetn1 on February 7, 2009 at 7:00 am

    Oh, and one more thing Steve….I concur to this thought as well, in fact I am grieved because of it –
    “I am a worm and miserably less than I wish I were…”

    I hope I am “getting there”, though there are at times that I am so distraught at my own walk and at the ways of the world that I cannot help but question what I think I know…as I have used this quote from John Owen before, but once again it so applies to my thoughts –

    “All thing I thought I knew; but now confess, the more I know I know, I know the less”.

    Though it will serve me well to remember this quote from him as well-

    “All other ways of mortification are vain, all helps leave us helpless, it must be done by the Spirit.”

  5. Yes Sister,

    It’s all God and none of us! The less we think of ourselves the more we realize this. Thank God for
    His grace!

  6. Posted by memnan on February 10, 2009 at 10:19 am

    I’m a new creation!
    I’m a brand new man!
    Old things have passed away!
    I’ve been born again!
    More than a conqueror,

  7. Posted by memnan on February 10, 2009 at 10:20 am

    THAT’S WHO I AM!…*: )

  8. Posted by memnan on February 10, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Thanks to the Blood of Jesus…we don’t have to be so bummed out!

    Walking in the Sonshine…Singing in His Reign!

  9. Posted by memnan on February 10, 2009 at 11:42 am

    This year in our church, we are studying the names of God. This particular month is Jehovah-tsidkenu (the Lord our righteousness) Our Pastor made a great observation in his sermon…Jesus didn’t just give us righteousness…we would have used it up by now…He made us righteous…that’s who we ARE now…In Jesus. He is able to keep us from falling.

  10. Posted by memnan on February 10, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Thanks for the link on Dominionism, I read the article and it made me sick at heart. The whole purpose behind these heresies is control! I stand with Paul in spirit(in his pleading with the Galatians) and wondering how our Christian brothers and sisters could be so easily bewitched into surrendering their freedom in Christ to another gospel? And yet the answer is so evident…failing to renew their minds with the ever Living Word of God!

  11. Posted by Carol on February 12, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Brother Steve,

    I have no doubt you will be found worthy at the coming of our Savior. I can totally relate to what you feel about hating this world and life. I have been very heart broken lately and I so desperately want to be with Jesus. But I must remember to set my mind on things above whilst I keep my head where my feet are. And I’m so thankful that His mercies are new every day. Even though I am broken and spilled out and crying alot, He renews my strength and gives me great peace. The tears I shed today are no comparison to the glorious riches in Christ Jesus our Lord which we will soon see in all their glory by the power of the Living God and by His Spirit.
    Peace and love to you, brother

  12. Nancy dear….I love that thought: “Jesus didn’t just give us righteousness…we would have used it up by now…He made us righteous…that’s who we ARE now…In Jesus.”

    We are sheep, dumb and hard headed in that stupidity, and yet the Son of God STILL died for us! Blessed be His Name above all other names!

    Thanks for the comments!

  13. Thanks you Sister Carol, for the kind words. Don’t flatter me too much though. I am one of those stupid sheep, too!

    I appreciate your heart for God and your love for Jesus. I have been so busy lately I am feeeling extremely burned out. I haven’t been able to blog or comment very much at all. Let our friends know I am still around but I’d appreciate your prayers that I will stay in God’s will and not my own. Still wrestling with some issues I’m afraid.

  14. Hey Steve,

    It sounds like we’re singing from the same song sheet my brother!

    It never fails to amaze me how I can be so wrapped up in the things of God one minute, and then wrapped up in sinful ways the next? I truly detest myself at times!

    Sometimes we simply have to believe that if we confess our sins to Him, He is faithful to forgive us, and the Blood of Jesus cleanses from ALL unrighteousness.

    For brief moments here and there, I can’t figure out how He possibly could. But then, His ways are so much higher than mine, what do I know, other than what His Word tells me?

    Bless you my brother, you are in all of our prayers at Faith Defenders, and a warm welcome awaits whenever you feel like dropping by.

    Love in Christ,

    John.

  15. Dear John, my brother in Christ!

    I thank you for your prayers and thoughts. I thank my God in Christ for all of you who are faithfully seeking God’s will and not your own.

Leave a Reply

