ARE YOU VEXED????

Vexed and ready to go home

       Yesterday was a tough day for me in this world. I was steadily growing more cynical as the day went on, what with the financial concerns and foolish injustices of our present world. I do not support the government bailout of the banks and mortgage companies because it’s their bed and “they can lay in it”. The bailout of GM and Chrsyler bother me as well and I am perplexed by Ford’s decision not to apply for inclusion. These are all signs of impending financial collapse, in my humble opinion.

Still, what really discouraged me today had nothing to do with the financial status of our nation, but more the spiritual and moral starvation that are so evident even in much of so-called “Christendom”. Most people today are of a Post-Modern bent because  they simply are not convinced by the lifestyles or evidences provided them by those who claim to be different, but aren’t. Almost everyone I talk to is either already a “believer” or have a professed belief in a “universal God of love”. Some young ladies I overheard recently were saying they found praying to be “scary”. When I inquired a to why they thought this, the girl that aknowledged me mentioned they were looking into other spirituality and religions. I asked why and she essentially told me she was trying to find what worked for her. I told her that prayer should not be scary and if it was, it was toward someone or something besides the true God. Her friend almost immediately accused me of being judgmental, and I replied that Jesus had said there was only one true God and that He was the way to God, and no one could come to know God except through Him.

Surprisingly, this young lady explained that she was raised a Christian, but just wanted to see if these other things had anything better to offer. Her friend didn’t want to talk to me any longer, so recall I simply said “God bless and help you in your journey!” While not as pointed as I would have liked to have been, I am sure they were rolling their eyes at me for quite a while as their departure was limted to moving to another end of the train.

Then last night as I traveled home on the train, a young man and two very young girls (16 maybe?) got on and were talking loudly yet not offensively. After a few discussions about the weather and their sandwiches, they began talking even more loudly about things such as body parts and genitalia, announcing that because they were on public transportation they had a right to say whatever they wanted to and began pushing the boundaries farther and farther. Honestly, I am so weary of such talk and the apparent thick skins these kids have, that I resigned myself to blocking out their talk with music from my iPod. Granted I felt guilty about not confronting these kids with some scripture or sage advice, but unfortunately I honestly felt nothing but condemnation toward them. I was reminded of David’s Psalms where he talks about the wicked and foolish sinners who will not pay any mind to the things of God. Of course, Jesus’ words “Do not give dogs what is holy, and do not throw your pearls before pigs, lest they trample them underfoot and turn to attack you” (Matthew 7:6 ESV.) seemed to apply here, too.

I know from experience as a former correctional officer, juvenile counselor and my current jail ministry that you cannot make someone righteous or just by judging them or throwing condemnation at them. You must consistently offer them the evidence of a life that evinces peace and hope. Jesus did not come to condemn but to save. How can we lead people to Christ who have no regard for God’s Word much less Jesus Christ?

The young man, out of nowhere it seemed, made reference to scripture saying something about “the shortest verse in the Bible” and while I expected to hear “Jesus wept” he mentioned something quite vague about Judas dying. He claimed it was from “the testaments” though he evidently had no clue what he was talking about. Keep in mind that even though I was pumping some piano music into my ears I could still hear their raucous conversation. One lady said sarcastically, as she got off at her stop, “Thank you for making my ride home soooo enjoyable!” That produced comments like “Oh! Did we offend you? Dont worry, we’ll be here tomorrow, too!” Eventually the girls got where they were going and apparently were more instigators than accessories because the train got reasonably quiet after they got off. The young man put on his headphones and pretty much kept to himself the rest of the time.

I confess I thought (after the fact, of course) of things I could have said, like “The shortest verse in the Bible is ‘Jesus wept’ and let me tell you why!” or “You should read the Bible and see what it really says.” I realize that just as a farmer will not spread seed on un-tilled ground, I am, as a believer, to be looking for and desiring the return of the Lord (1 Peter 3:12) and for those souls who are looking for the truth (Matthew 5:6) and be a light to guide them. No one looking for truth is going to ask directions from someone that doesn’t indicate they know the “Way”.

We are to “….always being ready to make a defense to everyone who asks you to give an account for the hope that is in you, yet with gentleness and reverence; and keep a good conscience so that in the thing in which you are slandered, those who revile your good behavior in Christ will be put to shame” (1 Peter 3:15-16 NASB). .

To end this rather long story, let me just ask again: Are you vexed in your spirit by the wickedness around you, on TV, in the newspaper, and on the radio? Do you long for your redemption from this world? Or are you hungering for that favorite TV show, irritated because the preacher takes more than 30 minutes on Sunday to speak the Word to you? What is your favorite music? Songs about God and Jesus Christ or the latest pop song? Really folks, we all need to examine ourselves and, in the words of Marshall Keeble “Get right!” with God.

“…And if he rescued righteous Lot, greatly distressed by the sensual conduct of the wicked (for as that righteous man lived among them day after day, he was tormenting his righteous soul over their lawless deeds that he saw and heard); then the Lord knows how to rescue the godly from trials, and to keep the unrighteous under punishment until the day of judgment, (2 Peter 2:7-9 ESV)And because lawlessness will be increased, the love of many will grow cold. (Matthew 24:12 ESV).. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. (1 John 2:15 ESV)

Do not love the world or the things in the world

10 responses to this post.

  1. I can’t tell you how deeply I can identify with what you’re saying here. I’ve just been involved on a blog discussing Christianity and religious freedoms with a group of non-Christians who have been piling on me. I am, of course, the stupid and unenlightened one.

    It does weary you. The only one on that page who claimed to be a Christian jumped on my case too because she believes that God loves everyone, even his gay children. I weary of the debate.

    I want to go home so badly.

  2. I’m glad I’m not alone Jen! The Christmas season depresses me as well. It has nothing to do with my Lord any more, if it ever truly did. Santa shows up at church and every where I go. Why aren’t Christians smart enough to see that Santa takes away from the Christ in Christmas???

  3. Posted by indywatchman on December 21, 2008 at 6:06 am

    It is nice to know that we are not alone in our vexation. It truly is the same today as it was in the days of Noah and Sodom; ignorance is at an all time high; corruption of mind and body is complete, and the wine press is overflowing with the awaited wrath of God. We Christians of the Remnant are learning firsthand the what it means to endure to the end, because the end may very well be in our life time.

    Blessings, we are not alone,

    Steve Blackwell
    http://www.indywatchman.com

  4. Posted by sreneetn1 on December 21, 2008 at 9:33 am

    PK,

    I can so relate to you and how you feel. I have been weeping for days. My heart feels as if it cannot break anymore – -I feel as if it is going to burst out of my chest. My bones ache.

    I am feeling all sorts of emotions from what I see around me – from hate to love. I hate what is done in the name of Jesus. I hate that our Creator is rejected. I hate this materialistic world! I hate the thoughts that people have. I hate what I see most of the time – – from what appears on television to what appears before my very eyes in my home and my place of work…everywhere. Though I hate it, I still have a feeling of anxiety, a feeling of sadness for the brokenness of people’s lives. I cannot wait for Christ to return to take me out of this place! But even that thought leaves me feeling perplexed…sad, for I long to exit this place, but yet I feel that it is selfish for me to want it so badly for there are so many around me that still reject God and His ways – – and I want them saved! I feel so broken in what and how to do things. To my shame, I know I am leaning too much my own understanding and not enough on Him – for I know it is He that saves a man and nothing in me can do it…BUT nonetheless, I struggle with what and how. I so want to do His will – be in His will in ALL aspects of my life! It leaves me feeling exhausted – some times more than others – thank God, for I could not keep going for very long in the state I find myself in right now. I am weary. May God have mercy on my soul!

    Wow, I hope that all makes sense above, I do have a hard time expressing into words my thoughts – – I can be a bit confusing. Sorry.

    I do find strength in reading your thoughts as well as others here, for I know that I am not alone in this craziness. I know that this world is not my home, so I shouldn’t expect to find comfort – at least outside of Him, but I am still living in this flesh, and at times it still has its way with me – – but LORD willing, and I know He is – He will get me through, get us through.

    Thanks PK for sharing. You are a blessing.
    sherry

  5. Thanks Steve! Keep the faith brother! Satan is doing his very best to confuse and disorient all of us. I find myself asking too many questions these days and I have come to the conclusion that while questions can be good, we will never have them all in this life.

    I will continue to ask questions, but by God’s grace they will lead to more truth, not more doubt.

  6. Dear Sherry,

    You and I are very alike in our ramblings, if I may say so! I believe that all of us who love the Lord more than this world can understand and empathize with your feelings. It is GOOD to be vexed! It means we are not of this world and not in love with it.

    I had a friend tell me recently about a former co-worker of hers who has terminal cancer, but is joyfully looking forward to “going home”. That was very encouraging to me…to know there are still people who do not cling until their last breath to the things of this present broken world.

    And it IS a conundrum that almost seems selfish, to wish for the Lord’s return, while still praying and hoping for more to come into the Light!

    God’s will, not ours, be done.

  7. PK,

    I feel the same as you. I too can relate. Where are the seekers!?

    I know you hit something here on evangelism. We must always leave an open door, and let others know the door is open. I like to ask others “Do you have any spiritual needs?” I almost never get “no”.

    God bless.

  8. Posted by memnan on December 22, 2008 at 5:59 am

    I don’t know that I would say I am “vexed”, but I do have a sadness and heaviness of heart for the people caught in this world system of things…If you are vexed…just think of the horror these people endure…there is no hope or comfort for them in this world…We have one another and the Living Word of God…They have nothing…

    While I have no love for this world system of things…I truly do have a love of the creation of our Heavenly Father…He has blessed us with a myriad of wonder to bring joy to our hearts. Think on the lovely, pray for the destitute of spirit and rejoice in the wonder of it all…Soon and very soon we will see the return of our Forever King…*: )

  9. Scott,

    That’s a great suggestion! I’ll have to try and remember to ask “Do you have any spiritual needs?” the next time someone seems willing to talk.

  10. Ah, Nancy dear,

    I know very well that you have a love for God’s creation and most (not all) of His creatures. I think Mr.Chuckers is probably the most handsome rooster I’ve seen.

    And you are right, we are to think on the lovely, pure and innocent things of this world, not dwell on the bad. Thanks for the reminder that in all situations we have much to be grateful for.

Leave a Reply

