God’s worst day

Over the last few days, I have experienced the worst days of my professional career. In this trial I have truly learned what it means to believe and trust in God despite all outward appearances. I am the sole IT support, these days, for my company and we support many other companies with our services, both regionally and globally. So, after resolving a minor but significant problem, I gave God the praise (literally) in an email announcing that the problem had been resolved.

Feeling somewhat victorious in having the guts to give God credit for something unrelated to Him in most people’s eyes, I was utterly shocked to find that the changes I had made had detrimentally affected the entire system. Suddenly, nothing was working, users could no longer access records that were essential to business, and I was unable to get the servers to communicate with each other. The fault lay in a hasty fix that essentially corrupted my entire Active Directory tree and began a true implosion of my integrated systems.

For close to a decade, I have been very pleased with my success in providing uninterrupted services to my customers and quite proud of that, too. But, this……!!! I ended up working that day, the following night and most of the next day without any sleep beyond a one hour catnap. During the night, as I was working to rebuild and recover the systems, it seemed I was in a tunnel without end or light in sight. In truth, I felt I was already overrun by the train I hadn’t seen coming! But, through it all, I remembered that God was in charge even though the devil tried to get me to accuse God of treason. After all, this was the seeming result of giving God honor! I resorted to David’s tacic, tellig God that His honor and His name were in danger of being besmirched and to rescue me from my troubles for His name’s sake.

Well, things got worse and worse, it seemed, and I was almost convinced that God wasn’t  on my side, but was rather against me now. However, I remembered the verse “Be not vercome by evil, but overcome evil with good” in Romans 12:21 and the song, by Casting Crowns “I Will Praise You In This Storm”  and I determined that, in spite of everything, I would continue to praise and thank God for His Son and His goodness no matter what. I was very worried I would lose my job, was briefly tempted to quit or even kill myself, and experienced a harrowing feeling that I was abandoned by God and damned. But, all this served to show me what our Lord and savior went through WILLINGLY, for our sakes.

My worst day could not compare to what the Son of God experienced for our sakes. He gave up the privileges and power He had in Heaven for one purpose: to rescue you and me and anyone who will believe from the darkness of death and sin. He was God’s One and Only Rescue Plan for mankind. He had to come to earth and do for us what we could not possibly to ourselves…. make things right between God and us. He knew what awaited Him: the weakness of being a dependent baby, growing up in a world where he was just a blue collar worker with no real privileges at all in a world dominated by an occupying nation.

Jesus Christ knew, ahead of the event, that He would do many great and wonderful things for an ungrateful and carnal bunch of religious people, who would utlimately despise Him, make fun of Him, and try to destroy Him. And yet He came anyway! He died guiltless in a terrible way that we would protest as inhuman today. And to top it off, He experienced His Father’s rejection –  absolute abandonment by God while He suffered for you and me the pain and rejection we so richly deserve.

It was God’s worst day. But this was the only way to resolve the problem of sin. Now, God offers us the free gift of reconciliation and peace with God through His Son’s faithfulness to the Plan of Salvation. So, no matter how bad your day is, please remember that Someone Who had the worst day He could imagine, had it ON PURPOSE!

Who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross. Therefore God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.” (Philippians 2:6-11 ESV)

Thank you Jesus!

Oh yes, I am still recovering my systems, but God gave me an escape (a small still voice suggesting a simple plan) that got my systems up and running again. I have a lot of work and planning to do and I have learned some hard lessons, but the most important ones were about my faith and believing in God regardless of everything.

“Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm.” (Ephesians 6:10-13 ESV)
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by memnan on July 7, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Mostly I would just have given this comment a pass rather than actually get yet another user name and password to comment…but, your post really touched my heart and I have been praying for you…this was going to be in answer to the response you gave to my other comment…but, you know…I think I will just keep it to myself knowing that with a post like this one…the Holy Spirit knows exactly where you live and will have no trouble at all speaking to you…*: ) Thanks for the video…I borrowed it for my post today it was just perfect…Always remember…NEVER forget…when the enemy draws near…throw you hands up to God and praise His Name…Good post Grasshopper!

  2. Thanks Nancy!

    It’s been rough and I am weak, but this is making my faith stronger by teaching me to just “hang on”! God bless you for your encouragement.

  3. Posted by Darren on August 16, 2008 at 11:54 am

    It’s so refreshing to read an honest depiction of Faith against the ropes. Life is tough – we’ve all been body slammed to the mat – but remembering what Jesus endured for all who embrace Him provides us with a needed change of perspective. Thanks for your willingness to write what many people think but rarely express with words.
    –Darren

  4. Thanks for stopping by Darren!

    That particular trial was my hardest one yet. I don’t look forward to any more like that, but I may need them. “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called, according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28

    I put the last comma in there, because I believe that’s how it should read. God puts us through things to increase our faith and test our sincerity. The rejoicing comes when we realize we passed the test!

  5. […] – bookmarked by 1 members originally found by somedevilguy on 2008-11-13 God’s worst day https://prodigalsknots.wordpress.com/2008/07/04/gods-worst-day/ – bookmarked by 5 members […]

Leave a Reply

