I have to ask my pastor?

Fox News has more on the Burger King “Have It Your Way” spirituality of arrogant America which allegedly “remains a nation of believers and, while this is not the time for it, I have come to many conclusions that I believe are supported scripturally, that run counter to the fables many hold today as scriptural truths. I am sure I am wrong about some of them, but I am positive that many things supposed are just not taught in the Bible at all! I hope to share these with you and wish to be corrected, convincingly by scripture, if I am wrong.

I absolutely hate it, though, when a person’s only response to a challenge to widely held beliefs is “I’ll have to ask my pastor about that.” I mean, come on! Are you willing to put that much confidence in a man (or woman) ? When we are talking about being right or wrong about eternal things, I think any honest and sincere person’s first response should be, “Let’s see what the Word has to say.” or ” Let me study that and I’ll get back to you.” Unfortunately, I believe many, many people will miss out on eternal life because they didn’t value immortality enough and/or didn’t really believe what they say they do.

A statistic that I ran across recently said that more than half the people who graduate from college will never take the time to sit down a read an entire book ever again in their lives. More disturbing is the apparent reality that most professing Christians have never read anything but bits and pieces of the very Bible they claim to believe. As a wise man once said “Having 2,000 books in your library is like having 2,000 professors in your home.” Of course, that would be only true if the books had some real knowledge to impart! But, seriously, people need to read and seek for the truth. But, we must also weigh and measure everything against the Word of God (not Eugene Peterson’s commentary, “The Message”) letting It take precedence always.

I have entertained many different theologies, soteriological and eschatology theories since becoming a true believer almost two years ago. Raised in a perfectionist setting, my initial feeling was that I was a lone Christian because I couldn’t find any other perfect believers. That’s correct. I thought I was the only sinless person in town because all I met were believers who claimed they still sinned! It was only after I began studying the Bible for myself that I came to the realization that I wasn’t perfect. In fact, my believing I was, was proof enough. Christ said “No one is good but God alone”; Paul said “if a man thinks he is something, then he is nothing” and the fact that Jesus advised his disciples (whose names were “written in the book of life”) to pray “forgive us our sins and we forgive those who sin against us”.

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and light unto my path, ” (Psalms 119:105 RV)

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by indywatchman on June 26, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    I have to give you at least a short applause for picking up on the silliness of the Peterson Bible, but not enough applause to cause undue flattery, for the recognition of the vain attempt of todays Christians to show off their vanity to the whole world. It took me a lot longer, thirty three years, and thanks for the comments at Indy Watchmen.

    Steve Blackwell

  2. Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path. Psalm 119:105 KJV

    Great Wisdom *: )

    I linked to your blog from http://fundyreformed.wordpress.com/, I always like to check out the blogs of other readers on the sites I visit. I read your two posts and just wanted to leave you with a bit of wisdom that you might find helpful. *: )…First of all, since I do not blog at WordPress, I’m not sure how you would make this change, but you might want to look into how to control which blogs get advertised in the auto-generated – possibly related posts…that is one feature I find concerning with WordPress.

    I’m glad you are involved with studying the Word of God. There are so many resources available to us on the w.w.w. today…Bob’s blog is an excellent one.I also noted that you feel that you have only been a true believer for the past two years…From my perspective, forty-six years down this road and about twenty-six of those reading Gen-Rev each year, I offer this bit of wisdom… While it is true some fables are quite blatant,it might be helpful for you to spend a little more time gleaning from the Word before purporting to expose said fables. I also believe even as a fairly new Christian, you carry within you the very same Holy Spirit that actually breathed out the Living Word that you obviously are learning to love. Keep at in grasshopper…*: )

  3. Steve,
    Thanks for the encouragement. I appreciate faint praise much more than flattery.

    Nancy,
    I completely agree that I need to be careful, but while I’ve not read the Bible as many times, I have certainly been surprised myself with the insights I have received reading the Bible with a heart for truth. I cannot remember ever hungering and treasuring God’s Word when I read the Bible back when I thought I was a Christian teenager. I have been astonished, while discussing doctrine and theology with my father and many other people, how little many people who’ve been a believer for decades know about what God really says.

    Here’s a hint at what I believe are fables:
    The idea that the unsaved have immortal souls is not supported by the Bible. 1 Corinthians 15 is not addressed to or speaking about non-believers and I find no proof that unbelievers seek immortality (Romans 2:7) or that unbelievers bodies will be resurrected to anything but corruptible and unredeemed flesh. The Bible says only that it is appointed to all men to die and then the judgment. The Lake of fire is called the second death, not life of any kind. It cannot be both.

    That said, I am perfectly willing to be proven wrong and you have my encouragement to do so. I am here to learn, not pontificate. Thank you for your comments!

Leave a Reply

